četrtek, julij 29, 2004

Pahor steps down as Speaker of Parliament

Borut Pahor stepped down from his post as Speaker of Parliament on 7 July, in preparation for assuming his new duties as one of Slovenia’s seven member of the European Parliament. Four other newly elected Euro MPs stepped down as well, including Deputy Speaker of Parliament, Mihael Brejc.

The day before, the National Assembly confirmed Slovenia’s Euro MPs: Alojz Peterle and Ljudmila Novak (NSi), Jelko Kacin and Mojca Drčar Murko (LDS), Mihael Brejc and Romana Jordan Cizelj (SDS) and Borut Pahor (ZLSD).

The Law on the Election of Slovene Representatives to the European Parliament states that one cannot be a member of the Slovene parliament and the EuroParliament simultaneously. The European Parliament held its first session on 20 July.

Pahor’s party, the ZLSD, forwarded Feri Horvat as their preferred candidate to replace Pahor at the helm of the National Assembly. He was confirmed on 12 July in a vote of 74:8 as Slovenia’s fifth Speaker of Parliament [UVI / 13.07.04
/ New Parliament Speaker Elected].