četrtek, januar 20, 2005

EU Presidency working group established

The government has created a working group to prepare for Slovenia’s presidency of the European Union in the first six months of 2008. The group is chaired by Prime Minister Janez Janša, and also includes Foreign Minister Dimitrij Rupel, Finance Minister Andrej Bajuk, Public Administration Minister Gregor Virant and head of the government's Office for European Affairs (SVEZ) Marcel Koprol.

The group is tasked with drafting policy guidelines and setting the presidency’s priorities, as well as overseeing preparations being made throughout the Slovene public administration.

Slovenia will be the first of the ten new members of the EU to assume the bloc’s presidency. If the Constitutional Treaty is not in force by 2008, the country will lead the EU alone; if the treaty has entered into force, however, Slovenia will be joined by Germany and Portugal as the first "presiding troika," an institution enshrined in the Constitutional Treaty [SN / 06.01.05 / Govt sets up EU presidency working group].